International Scientific Committee 2021

The tasks of the International Scientific Committee (ISC) are:

  • To advise the EPH Conference Foundation and EUPHA in all matters concerning research and science both on request and voluntarily;
  • To safeguard the scientific content of the annual EPH Conference; and
  • To review the abstracts submitted for presentation at the annual EPH Conference.

Chair of the International Scientific Committee is Regien Biesma-Blanco.

Regien Biesma (BSN, MSc, MSc, PhD) is Associate Professor of Global Maternal and Child Health at the Global Health Unit, Department of Health Sciences, Faculty of Medical Sciences, University Medical Center Groningen (UMCG), Groningen, the Netherlands. She is an epidemiologist and public health specialist with a research focus on estimating and reducing the disparity gap in maternal, neonatal and child health outcomes in low- and middle-income countries. She has a particular interest is global nutrition. Her work explores factors during (pre)pregnancy, birth outcomes, early child growth and health and disease later in life. At UMCG, she supervises PhD candidates, coordinates internships in social medicine and leads the advanced research master programme on Health Systems and Prevention. Before joining UMCG in 2018, she spent 11 years at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland where she lectured in Global Public Health and Epidemiology and worked on health systems and policy research in Africa and Asia. She was an invited expert for the World Health Organization expert consultation on maximising positive synergies between health systems and Global Health Initiatives. She is a research fellow at the Aletta School of Public Health, the Netherlands, member of the Working Group on International Nutrition in the Netherlands and member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Lifecourse Nutrition Center, Agder University, Norway.

Members ISC:

Dr Oboh Achioyamen, United Kingdom
Prof Róza Ádány, Hungary
Prof Charles Agyemang, Netherlands
Prof Tit Albreht, Slovenia
Prof Kristina Alexanderson, Sweden
Prof Peter Allebeck, Sweden
Mrs Tatiana Alves, Portugal
Prof Arja Aro, Finland
Prof Kevin Balanda, Ireland
Dr Gabriela Barbaglia, Spain
Prof Georg Becher, Norway
Dr Marleen Bekker, Netherlands
Dr Regien Biesma-Blanco, Netherlands
Prof Johan Bilsen, Belgium
Dr Christopher Birt, United Kingdom
Prof Stefania Boccia, Italy
Petronille Bogaert, Belgium
Prof Bettina Borisch, Switzerland
Dr Richard Bränström, Sweden
Prof Ute Bültmann, Netherlands
Prof Genc Burazeri, Albania
Dr Stefan Buttigieg, Malta
Dr John M Cachia, Malta
Prof Stefano Capolongo, Italy
Dr Marion Carey, Australia
Dr Evangelia Chrysikou, United Kingdom
Prof Nesrin Cilingiroglu, Turkey
Dr Thomas Classen, Germany
Prof Judith de Jong, Netherlands
Prof Angelique De Rijk, Netherlands
Prof Corrado De Vito, Italy
Prof Chiara de Waure, Italy
Dr Marie Delnord, Belgium
Prof Marie-Luise Dierks, Germany
Prof Helen Dolk, United Kingdom
Prof Thomas Dorner, Austria
Prof Julia Dratva, Switzerland
Mr Gilles Dussault, Portugal
Dr Ivan Erzen, Slovenia
Dr Carlo Favaretti, Italy
Prof Rainer Fehr, Germany
Prof Patricia Fitzpatrick, Ireland
Dr Silvia Florescu, Romania
Prof Anders Foldspang, Denmark
Dr Kimberley Foley, United Kingdom
Dr Birger Forsberg, Sweden
Mr Marthein Gaasbeek Janzen, Netherlands
Prof Maria Gańczak, Poland
Prof Amandine Garde, United Kingdom
Prof Ansgar Gerhardus, Germany
Dr Abby Gold, United States
Prof Beatriz González-Valcarcel, Spain
Prof Marcus Grant, United Kingdom
Dr Olivier Grimaud, France
Prof Peter Groenewegen, Netherlands
Prof Giuseppe Grosso, Italy
Dr Stefano Guicciardi, Italy
Dr Gunnel Hensing, Sweden
Dr Henk Hilderink, Netherlands
Dr Thomas Hone, United Kingdom
Mr Damir Ivankovic, Netherlands
Dr Marija Jakubauskiene, Lithuania
Dr Danielle Jansen, Netherlands
Prof Marta Cecilia Jaramillo-Mejia, Colombia
Prof Marija Jevtic, Serbia
Dr Michelle Kelly Irving, France
Prof Ilona Koupil, Sweden
Prof Allan Krasnik, Denmark
Dr Ellen Kuhlmann, Germany
Dr Bernadette Kumar, Norway
Prof Tobias Kurth, Germany
Prof Giuseppe La Torre, Italy
Prof Lucie Laflamme, Sweden
Mr Anthony Laverty, United Kingdom
Dr Hyewon Lee, United States
Prof Alastair Leyland, United Kingdom
Prof Jutta Lindert, Germany
Dr Johan Lund, Norway
Ms Heidi Lyshol, Norway
Dr Els Maeckelberghe, Netherlands
Prof Julian Mamo, Malta
Dr Marco Marchetti, Italy
Prof Piedad Martin-Olmedo, Spain
Sara Mc Quinn, Ireland
Prof Martin McKee, United Kingdom
Dr Odile Mekel, Germany
Prof Anjum Memon, United Kingdom
Mrs Monika Mensing, Germany
Dr Gabriele Messina, Italy
Dr Ricardo Mexia, Portugal
Dr Daniele Mipatrini, Italy
Dr Iveta Nagyova, Slovakia
Prof Saoirse Nic Gabhainn, Ireland
Prof Anna Odone, Italy
Dr Orkan Okan, Germany
Mr Kasper Olesen, Denmark
Dr Maria Papadakaki, Greece
Prof Ivan Perry, Ireland
Dr Elena Petelos, Greece
Dr Paulo Pinheiro, Germany
Klaus D. Pluemer, Germany
Mr Mircha Poldrugovac, Netherlands
Prof Ileana Prejbeanu, Romania
Prof Ossi Rahkonen, Finland
Dr Muhammad Aziz Rahman, Australia
Dr Bina Ram, United Kingdom
Prof Oliver Razum, Germany
Prof Andrea Rebecchi, Italy
Dr Sofia Ribeiro, Portugal
Prof Luís Saboga-Nunes, Portugal
Dr João Vasco Santos, Portugal
Prof Milena Šantrić Milićević, Serbia
Prof Sonia Saxena, United Kingdom
Prof Andreia SilvaCosta, Portugal
Prof Luis Souza, Brazil
Prof Danijela Stimac Grbic, Croatia
Prof Christiane Stock, Germany
Prof Saverio Stranges, Luxembourg
Prof Birute Strukcinskiene, Lithuania
Dr Amets Suess Schwend, Spain
Salina Tewolde, United Kingdom
Dr Peter Van Den Hazel, Netherlands
Dr Arjan van der Star, Sweden
Dr Paula Vassallo, Malta
Dr M Luisa Vázquez Navarrete, Spain
Prof Arnoud Verhoeff, Netherlands
Dr Marieke Verschuuren, Netherlands
Prof Paolo Villari, Italy
Ms Verena Vogt, Germany
Mr Greg Williams, United Kingdom
Dr Jason Wu, Australia